The essence of the mess

By SunkeneyedGirl

Day late with my Mez Q's (sorry, Dued x)

1) If you could travel back in time where would you go and who would you like to speak to?
That is hard. Would I want to meet someone famous, someone worthy, see some major event, solve some big mystery? I don't think I would. There are too many famous, interesting and intriguing characters over this seemingly infinite history of ours. How could I decide? Where would I go? Maybe back to myself as an angst-ridden adolescent; I might have needed it, benefited from it, although in my emo-queen incarnation, I probably wouldn't have appreciated it. Back just a bit to spend more time with my lovely old Nan? Maybe, but she would have died anyway, there was no preventing that one.
I think, if I could pop back for a second, I would be in my aunt's kitchen, about twenty-odd years ago, telling myself to be a little nicer to a certain person on the phone and maybe, things would have been different. Who knows?

2) What was your favorite television programme as a child?
The usual suspects, I suppose: Fingerbobs, The Clangers, Noggin the Nog - oh, and the absolutely splendid, under-appreciated Ludwig. And, for the record, I was a Swapshop child until they invented Tiswas.

3) When you take photographs what goes through your mind?
Now? Funnily enough, it's "Can I blip this?" What else would I think? I am not a conscious photographer; I don't set out to take a picture. I see something I like or I'm out and something just strikes me because I want to show it to someone else and I take a picture for them. Simple. The camera phone was an absolute revelation: I can plague people all the time now! Likewise blip, although the relationship with blip is still a bit problematic, the urge to hit the delete button is still there, but I am working on it.

4) Have you ever fallen asleep at the cinema?
Of course, but only at films that The Child has insisted on going to see. I slept through two lots of Alvin and The Chipmunks. Well, I tried to. The Child likes to wake me up so that I can share the best bits (gulp).

5) Black jacks? Did you like them?
Now that brings back memories of going to the newsagent's on my bike, aged about 5 or 6, with a signed note from my aunt saying: "20 Embassy no. 6". I always got to keep the change and that meant quite a few Blackjacks and Fruit Salads, because they were two for 1/2p. I can still see that lovely wooden counter, small child height and covered in glass, with thick sticky, smeary fingerprints from all the kidlets who'd already passed there that morning. And the Blackjacks, Fruit Salads and later, Rubarb and Custards in the top left-hand corner, next to the "white chocolate" mice and the flying saucers.

6) Would you ever go to Las Vegas? If yes, would you gamble?
It doesn't actually attract me as a place. I am sure I'd like the desert all around it, but I am not and never have been a fan of shows, sparkle, glitter, weddings or facades. I don't get the mechanics of gambling either, being rubbish at cards because I can't lie or bluff to save my life, no good at throwing dice and never one for force-feeding machines that will only spew their contents out a few more patrons down the line, but never for me. My biggest gambling sin has always been the scratchcard, and even then I don't feel deprived if I can't have one...

7) If you met the Queen what would you say to her?
Erm..."Hello"? She looks a bit like my gran, and they are the same age, but that doesn't mean I have any feelings about her (Queenie, not Gran, I love my gran - she's aces). I have never been an ardent royalist, but then again, I'm not an ardent republican either. I think I am an ardent apathist. Ok, I would be polite, because I am that sort of person, but she isn't really someone I think I'd get along with and since I am not pitching myself for the long-term friendship option, we could really just leave it at hello.

8) Are flannels hygenic in your opinion?
No. Unless you use once, boil and then use again. Doesn't stop me having them round the house though...The Child likes to wash her face with a flannel.

9) Do you think we have too many time-saving devices these days?
No. I would, if possible, have every time-saving device under the sun. Alas, I don't have the room or the finances...
What would I be freeing myself up for? No idea...but if some labour-saving item would care to keep the house clean, I could stop sitting here, looking wistfully around me at all the mess I should be cleaning up and that would free my worrying time up for me to worry about something else, like world peace, or how things are going with LordSirAllun on The Apprentice, or what I am going to do to while away the time until MasterChef comes back, the list is endless?

10) Can you whistle? If so what is your favourite tune to whistle?
I can. To my own ears, I can. I haven't asked anyone else for their opinion on my performance.
No fave tunes - it depends on the earworm of the moment..the famous "tune that starts playing in my head whenever I wake up in a given period.
And I suppose because I've been listening to it or because I just fad out on a song to the point of driving myself (and the rest of the world, I think) totally mad with it, at the moments it just happens to be this, which has nothing to do with Franks or Toms at all!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.