Roll With It

By Falmike

Desolation

My Mum and Dad's lounge, for forty years this was my parents home. I never lived here but I loved visiting as did the entire family, a happy, welcoming and loving place where all were welcome.
Today we have had lots of laughter but lots of tears as their possessions are divided into lots;
? Mikes, Gary's, Susan's, Jacqui's & Adrian's + smaller boxes for their grandchildren and great grandchildren.
? Charity Shop(s)
? Storage
? The tip
To see a lifetimes treasures and possessions reduced to this is heartbreaking but has also caused one or two moments of hilarity. No one wants to get rid of anything, stuff put in the boxes for the tip magically reappear in someone else's box. There has been no acrimony, everyone has more or less got what they wanted to remember Mum and Dad by. I was given my Dad's 'tip-top-tastic' camera so it's back to buying film for me!!!
Tomorrow will be a hard day, when I walk out of this house for the last time, the realisation that in a month or less no trace of Mum or Dad will remain here is hard to take.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.