Gun Date Night

The wife decided that it was time we got out concealed carry weapons license, so we need to go on a quick evening course, which included an hour on the range playing with just about any handgun we wanted.

I was given a 9mm Springfield Armory 1911 (thankfully - as I'd been stroking a Springfield Armory 1911 0.45ACP all evening that refused to lock with the slide open unless i virtually pointed the gun at myself).

Bought a box of "ammo" and then went onto the range.

Instructor did his first bit of instruction for the live range, we each fired a shot. He made comment how it was rare to get a bullseye first time round. 2 minutes later I fired my first ever gun - and got a bullseye. Of course.

Wife was so upset, quite rightly predicted that I would be unbearable now. Which I was.

I continued to blast through my box of ammo, getting bullseyes for the most part. Then got handed a different 1911 .45 and put 3 clips of the instructors bullets through the bullseye. Changed back to the 9mm and proceeded through the box. Made a comment that it aimed low which the instructor admitted was a fault with that gun (it was only a 10 day old gun and they were going to change the sights).

Wife wasn't having such an easy time, and she had a box of ammo, so I went over any put holes in her target for a bit. 30 shots later I decided that that gun also aimed low and to the left. I could consistently get the bullet through the same hole on the target.

Anyway, beginners don't usually have targets that look like this!

We'll be going again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.