Suki McSuki

By SukiMcSuki

Running Legs, Running River

Left work sharpish tonight at 5pm to go for run numero uno with new girlie workmates...

The plan is to train together 3 times per week and do the Race For Life for charity in Glasgow in June - there's the 5km or the 10km. I would like to go for the 10km but there is a mixed bag of fitness amongst the girlies and some just want to stick to the 5km... so we'll see how it goes...

I am really quite unfit at the moment though - having been doing NOTHING but work work work since the New Year and I have gained HEAPS of weight. In fact, I think I am heavier than I have ever been in my life and it feels pretty grim. All my clothes are tight and uncomfortable - but hopefully the running and reducing the bevvy intake will help...

I've only had 5 drinks in the past 12 days - which is unheard of for me!!! I haven't drunk so little in years!!!

The first 10 minutes of the run were depressingly hard and I started to feel mentally low but when we progessed into the second 10 minute stint, as my muscles and pace became warmer and my breathing more regular, it became easier and it started to feel great... (apart from sweaty heid with my woolly hat on and beetroot face!!)...

We managed to complete 30 mins with some walking intervals in between and I was so relieved when we finished.

Took a couple of snaps of the River Clyde before we drove home - a great blip opportunity - as it's not somewhere you really want to be on your own in the evenings... so I was grateful for the chance to be able to take some pictures with Helen and Claire nearby...

I'm a bit disappointed with the actual quality of the image but I think the colours are lovely as they look completely as they were for real - with no tweaks or interventions whatsoever...

This particular bridge had red and blue lights along its perimeter, which reflected onto the rushing water below, blending into purple and violet reflected colour. Just lovely.

Got home and started to feel really good and energised from the run... just hope I can stick with it this time, as I always start with good and eager intentions and then give up or get distracted with other things and end up chucking it after 3 or 4 runs...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.