Simply Me

By Suze981

I thought it mattered,I thought the music mattered

And it does. For at least that part, Peter Postlethwaite was right.

I went out for a 10k run today. I wasn't in the best of shape, my back has scabs on it that I could feel as I moved, my left hip still niggles from the 18 miler last Sunday and my thighs still haven't completely forgiven me for making them sprint last week. But I've ran through worse and it was only a 10k so I should have been fine...

This is Eric. He is my running iPod that I affectionately named today. I ran out my last iPod, so I bought Eric a few months back to replace it. (I know what you're thinking...an Eric should be more on the green side...but you can't have it all)

So I geared up for my run today, put Eric in the running pouch of my trousers and pressed play. All he could do was say 'low battery' to me. I decided to leave him at home. I can run for about an hour with no music right? It's not that big a deal...(not that I'd ever tried it before)

How wrong was I? If you have music, you never really get how important it is. Then when it's taken away, it's devastating. I have never felt so alone or so low when running. It's like I'm Samson and instead of my hair, Eric is the source of my power.

Ok ok I'm being a tad melodramatic here, but it was awful! Turns out, I don't want to run if I can't have John Parr whispering sweet nothings in my ear as I go.

I'll make sure this never happens again. From now on, Eric will always be charged. That's a promise.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.