Simply Me

By Suze981

Running expo

Americans always manage to make things sound more exciting don't they? This is the Rock and Roll Half Marathon's Fitness Festival and Expo. I had to go today to pick up my race number, timing chip and t-shirt for the race tomorrow.

This is the Red Hot Chilli Pipers on stage. You can't really see them because of my limited iphone camera and poor lighting. I stayed and listened to them play Don't Stop Believing, but then headed home. Looking at the impending clouds, I didn't want to get stuck in a rainstorm wearing summer clothing (I swear it was sunny when I left the house). I can hear them playing from my living room though.

I'm not entirely sure all of this was necessary. I was there a total of 30 minutes before getting bored. There was an overwhelming lack of freebies :( But there was a lot of American accents and enthusiasm.

You'll be pleased to know it didn't spread to me. I'm really not one for big showy races, I think I preferred last years subdued Edinburgh Half! Apparently tomorrow, there'll be stages with bands playing every couple of miles around the course. I'll be most displeased if it drowns out my Rocky soundtrack!

Ok grumbling over, I'll leave you with a quick question. Do I wear my race t-shirt tomorrow or not? I once read a Runner's World article that said there's nothing more annoying than someone racing in the race t-shirt. But why would they give us it a day in advance if they didn't expect us to wear it? Join in the crowd of runners wearing theirs or do my own thing?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.