My life, my lens

By JennyRampling

Packing

To say today had been eventful would be an understatement. I had a very busy day at work finishing off everything as we are flying to Vancouver tomorrow. I managed to leave work around 7.30 and happy that I had cleared my inbox and completed almost all the tasks I needed to.

Once home, it was frantic ironing and packing to get ready for our trip. As usual Matt and I are very disorganised when it comes to holidays so I had lots of things to sort out.

At around 11pm someone started to ring the doorbell for our flat. Matt went down to see what was going on and a man stood there and started hurling abuse and accusing us of putting a fire extinguisher in his flat. He turned out to be a neighbour from down the hall who we had never met before. There is an on going issue in our apartment block as someone keeps propping the fire escape door at the end of the hallway open. It turns out this is the guy and the level of abuse and swearing continued and soon another neighbour had come out to see what was happening. The guy was out of control and swearing and threatening us all and soon the concierge was called to come up to help. Soon things took a turn for the worst and the guy decided to pick up a fire extinguisher and try to throw it at us. Luckily we got the door closed in time or things could have been very different. Matt called the police and there were here within ten minutes.

The police were great and it really hit home how severe the incident had been as the guy could have been charged with attempting assault with a weapon or affray. We didn't want to press charges and the police explained that the guy may have been on drugs or suffering from some kind of mental illness. The guy also abused the police and showed so respect or remorse for what had taken place. They have told us they are going to write a lengthy report on what took place and it was also confirmed by the building manager and other neighbours that he had done similar things before.

I've missed lots of bits out of what happened as the incident was over an hour long from the first ring of the bell to when the police left and my mind is a blur. It all happened so quickly and I was really shaken up by it all. We live in a really lovely apartment and I would never have imagined something like this taking place. We have not been involved in the dispute about the door and so we have no idea why this guy decided to accuse us of something. He was completely out of control and the consequences could have been very different if he had managed to hit us with the extinguisher.

It was certainly a night I would like to forget and not the ideal thing to have happened the night before we go on holiday.

(boring shot of my t-shirts but I didn't have time to take anything better)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.