Footprints in Photos

By AnnaSpanner

Bright

I was actually trying to take a pic of M doing her painting when these 2 monsters burst into the room.

L's still got her temp so snuggled in with us last night. She's actually seems brighter this evening so hoping we all sleep better tonight.

My dear friend Shelley popped over this morning to drop a birthday present off for E. Its was good to see her as we've not had a proper catch up since her 3oth birthday in March. She's one of my bridesmaids next month and I can't wait to see what she's going to look like all with the rest of the wedding party.

Its my Grandma's 81st birthday today so we popped over for some tea and cake. She moved into semi-sheltered housing last year and in my opinion it was way too soon for her to take such a step. She's very well, able and independant and is use to mixing with younger people so I think being surrounded by less active people on a daily basis is making her miserable.

When my great grandma became older and a little bit confused, my grandma pretty much dedicated her life to looking after her mother. It was sad really as she lost contact with a lot of her friends and felt that she couldn't have a night off without worrying about how her mum would cope. When my gt. grandma finally passed away age 96ish, my grandma was suddenly left with a massive gap in her life. She was so determined for us to not have to look after her in this way that she sold her lovely victorian house and bought a small ground floor flat on an housing estate with a warden and care services for the elderly. She now has no garden, no local friends, no "youth" around her and its made her wonder where she fits in in this world.

She use to love visitors but when I suggested us popping over earlier in the week she initially said no, then decided to think about it, before calling me back and saying yes. Growing old, especially on your own can be very difficult.

Night off the running tonight, going to put my pjs on and catch up on some zzzz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.