Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Another happy event at the Duck Pond!

Watched The Bridge last night and I'm again very disturbed by it. Not by all the murders and devious plots that will give bad people ideas, but how Scandinavians have their doors opening the WRONG WAY!

If the door of your house opens out the way, then anybody could grab it and open it, especially if it was a wee old lady's house. And you can jam a chair under the handle and prevent someone from coming in if the door opens inwards. I think they've built millions of houses, without stopping to think what was sensible. They must see it on programmes and films from everywhere else in the world - and think - "Hey! That's a good idea to have the doors opening in the way!'

And another thing I'm very disturbed about is how they have their beds right by windows, and never pull the curtains!! And outside is all trees and bushes and dark places where obviously a lot of bad people lurk. Weird!

Don't really follow the plot much, too much else distracting me, but I do like Saga.

I had a tip off yesterday (thanks Uncle A) about some cygnets at the Duck Pond, so I went over this morning to investigate. And a fine morning it was too. I won't complain about the chilly wind - it was sunny and dry! So two out of three is GOOD.

I was the only person there, so all the birds were watching me carefully and following my walk round the pond at a respectful distance, except some cheeky ducks, who waddled along the path behind me. They kept fighting and doing a bit of 'headbutting'. In fact, one duck was headbutted backwards into my leg. They seemed to be picking on one little lady duck, who was squawking quite a lot - maybe that was why - and one bully grabbed her wing and was yanking it. In my best teacher voice I shouted "Hey! Cut that out!" and as usual, it was ignored, and the bully carried on regardless. And I couldn't identify the bully afterwards, so he won't get detention.

The swan family, mum, dad and six cygnets were by the side of the pond, although I think they go to the island at night, where the nest is. They were behind lots of dead reeds, so I couldn't really get a clear photo. I spent ages trying to lure them along to a clearer bit. But swans are so slow and dopey. When you throw a bit of bread, right to them, they look stunned and by the time they move to pick it up, some other bird has swooped in and got it. Every time. So luring doesn't work too well.

However, they eventually came along between two trees and I was able to get some shots. The wee chirping of the cygnets was sweet, but they always had their wee heads down, looking in the water. I also got a couple of other birds - a coot, and a black headed gull, I believe. They did well out of the luring lark.

Mum swan (or Dad swan) got out of the water at this point, and I left. Hurriedly. I took a famous family photo of a swan attacking my Grandpa, at this very pond, about 50 years ago, and the image of a rampaging swan (and a terrified Grandpa) has stuck with me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.