Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Not again!

Tuesday, so it's Leo Day. I've missed two Tuesdays, and now he can walk by himself (no more bending double for me), although he didn't do much of anything today. He's teething, and so he's not in the best fettle. His wee head is SO hot, and he didn't want to do anything but just sit on my knee or be carried around. The latter, of course, proves to be my undoing, because to get up from a sofa, with a toddler, I almost need a crane. Or one of those pulley systems for getting people in and out of bed. Or an ejector sofa! Has anyone invented that yet?

Last week Leo's favourite cuddly toy (which we gave him) was lost while in town with Granny Number 1. But he had a replacement new favourite teddy clutched close today in his general misery.

'How careless to lose a toy!' I thought to myself. 'Surely you'd see it falling out of the buggy?'

And, 'Why didn't Granny Number 1 re-trace their steps and at least make an attempt to find it?'

Despite his general unhappiness, we went to the library, and that was a good diversion for a tetchy toddler. We were there early enough to bag the sofa. Very Comfy! I admire folk who can sit cross-legged on the floor (ie most of the population) but I've never been able to. We both just relaxed and watched all the goings on, and didn't bother with our usual energetic participation.

We wandered back through the park. Leo doesn't mind too much when I keep stopping to blip trees and flowers in people's gardens. Mind you, he doesn't have much say in the matter. I did, in desperation this afternoon, try to blip the cat again, but she was even less co-operative than usual. So my blip today is quite a nice doorway. Not as grand as other doorways I've seen on blip, but somebody's pride and joy.

When we got back home from the library, yes... you guessed it. Replacement new favourite toy that we'd taken with us (and I'd been VERY careful not to leave it there) was NO LONGER IN THE BUGGY!

'How careless to lose a toy!' I hear you all say. 'Surely you'd see it falling out of the buggy?'

And 'Why didn't you re-trace your steps and at least make an attempt to find it?'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.