Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Another dog!

I seem to have succumbed to the joys of a slower start to the day... I've already decided to cancel my Swim Membership as I have (for a long time) considered it too expensive. I'll rejoin for half that when I'm 65 in a couple of years, thus saving nearly £800! When it's put like that, it's a LOT of money. After all, my aim was to learn to swim, which I have done.

A big win on the Bonus Bonds! £75! Add a few zeros and I could buy the new flat, new camera and new puppy in one fell swoop! But then what would I have to whinge about...

Anticipating a day like yesterday - sunshine, freezing cold, howling wind, periodic torrential rain - I decided on an indoor activity today, so I popped across to the Museum to attend the 1pm talk. Haven't done that for ages. However, as I went in, about 12.30, I was greeted by the staff saying they were on strike at 1pm. Pensions and conditions being changed. Mind you, in my opinion, there are far too many staff hanging around the museum. But what do I know...

However, it's a great place to people watch. I stood outside for a while in the sunshine (and biting wind), watching the never ending crowds having their photos taken with Greyfriar's Bobby. I liked these two. Obviously they had read up in the guide books about what weather to expect!

BTW, my computer is behaving properly now. It WAS the Downloads - I hadn't cleared them since I bought the computer - 2004!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.