You're HOW old !!!???

Milestone birthday for me.  Terrifying.

I wanted to slip quietly into the next decade without fuss, but today I was overwhelmed with good wishes, flowers, gifts, Champagne, texts and calls from my dearest friends, family and colleagues.  I felt cherished.

I didn't even mind opening the card from my (former) best school friend who sent me a voucher for a 3 hour surfing lesson WITH wetsuit hire.  Hmm.

A nap in the afternoon (recovery from last night), and out for dinner with the Weegies.  

We also booked the big leather sofas at the Art Deco - Dominion Cinema to watch 'Night at the Museum 3'. Excellent.  There's even a leather footstool and a table for my G&T. Every cinema should be like this.

I remember celebrating my parent's 50th birthdays.  For my dad, we bought him fluorescent socks and the Kamasutra. (a family 'in' joke.  When he was first married - he asked my (naive) mother to go order it at the library for him - which she did. She didn't go back to collect it!.  My mum took up jogging for her 50th.  She and I did one lap of the football fields then she was off work for a week with a bad back.

A wonderful day. Full of surprises. Thank you all,.you have made an old bint very happy. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.