Ladybird and loganberry

I'm feeling so much happier now. Finally the insurance company have authorised a company to come and do an "emergency" clean up. ( It is two weeks since the fire and I am not impressed with their timing.)

One man has done the lion's share, but he was joined by two youngsters to speed up the process as they completely deep cleaned all my cupboards and got the burnt plastic off the floor tiles. It will all need redecorating but that is not a problem.

There is very little "condemned" - the kitchen blind, the kettle and toaster and my drying rack, as well as the breadmaker and the dishwasher which is still gracing the patio in its burnt out state. They are talking about doing forensics on it!

He has done a terrific job. There is more to do on another day. They will return to clean the carpets and "fog" the house but I'm now beginning to feel that this nasty episode is coming to an end. I know I was lucky. If I had set the dishwasher going and gone out or gone to sleep, it could have taken the whole house.

While they worked, I spent time tidying up the garden and doing things I haven't had the heart or the energy to finish.

And the sun shone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.