Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A slow start to 2015...

I had to waken Archie up at 9:45am. Is this a record for a doggie lie-in? Even if it isn’t, it’s pretty good and much appreciated. Mind you, I have to put up with a paw in my face and a big hairy head on my pillow, snoring gently. He's not there all night, I hasten to add - he's invited up for the last hour or so.

Didn’t make it to the bells last night. It’s been a while since I did (and I don’t mean a year). This time last year we were at a beach-side resort in Tanzania and I just missed a glorious sunrise... (oops, my 'this time last year' link isn't working... *sigh*)

I did hear the Edinburgh fireworks, and I was watching the London display on my iPad. I had a good hour or so with my book instead of Jackie, Ally and Phil.*

This morning Archie had a new kind of treat - a wee chewy rawhide something or other. Kept him busy for ages and ages. When he got near the end of it, about a couple of inches left, he started going round the house, giving the odd little pathetic whimper. 

Being a bit of a ‘dog whisperer’ *ahem*  I knew what he wanted, and so let him out in the front garden. Sure enough, he poked about under this bush and that bush, looking furtive. He eventually found the ideal spot and buried it. So funny to watch him using his wee nose to cover it up. He thinks I didn’t see him… How much fun would it be to dig it up and move it...

Today has been leisurely. With snacks. It’s been wet all day so an indoor pottering day was called for. JR did a marathon session in bed with her new book, and Archie and I watched a bit of TV. He likes nature programmes, especially that chap Attenborough.


* Scottish stalwarts of New Year TV progamming.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.