Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

New Coat!

This is Archie’s new coat. Doesn't he look delighted... It has a smart fur collar. And reflective stripes. He hates it. He has to be carried to the gate. And he frequently just sits down on the pavement and refuses to walk. But on the positive side, he doesn’t pull on the lead when he wears it.

I’ve decided that Archie really will have to go to obedience training classes. If he’s on the lead, he barks and lunges hysterically when he sees another dog. He just wants to say hello, but it’s not desirable behaviour. And other owners don’t like it. There are dog training classes quite nearby, so I will look into this adventure in the New Year. 

Last time I went to dog training classes was in NZ. I had a bull terrier with the classic one black eye. Everything the class did (eg, ‘Put the lead down and walk away from your dog’ the trainer added, ‘… Everyone except the bull terrier!’ I gave up after a couple of sessions. Let’s hope Archie does not embarrass me like that!

JR (who is a Kiwi) went to the supermarket this morning. She asked a shop assistant the whereabouts of one of the items - ‘Gems’ and the assistant - probably thinking quickly that they did not, indeed, have a jewelry department - looked blank and asked several times before JR clarified,

‘You know - raspberry gem, strawberry gem…’

Aha! She meant JAAAAAM! (to be said in a broad Scottish accent). The jaaaaam was found.

I have spent much of the morning engrossed in my book (All the Light We Cannot See), which is a page turner! I’m loving it. I was reading it at 5:30 am (on my new Kindle with a backlight) after a visit to the toilet (which thankfully didn’t have any wee doggie surprises on the tiles).

Also had a wee go at snipping Archie’s hairy legs. They seem to have been left too long after the grooming, and they get knotted easily. If he wears his new coat, he stands as still as a statue. Brilliant! 

Happy New Year everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.