Book

I'm not doing Dry January. 

But I am trying to get back to the comfortable place I was in late last year of not drinking *every* evening. So, this is my fourth night without a drink, although I am planning on having one maybe tomorrow but deffo Friday when the Minx is up.

Of course, when you break any habit, you suddenly find a couple of loose ends in your life, and so I've ended up going to bed a lot earlier than usual. The upside of this has been that I've been reading a lot more. Loads more. A hundred pages in an evening before, theoretically, slipping into a deep sleep.

Except your body - well, my body, anyway - has to adapt to going to bed completely sober, so the quality of my sleep has been a bit like lying in a shallow bath. I'm almost tempted to stay sober until I'm completely acclimatised. Almost but not quite.

PS Thanks to my brother, Wol, for this book, which was a Christmas present.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.