Spot the rainbow

Chasing blips is like chasing rainbows. You see one and then try to get your best shot. Today I was on the Suffolk run again and was around thirty minutes away from the home when I spotted a squat rainbow. I pulled into a lay by to take some snaps.

You can just see my effort on the extreme right of the picture. It shifted behind a tree and so I decided to drive on for a better view.

Getting back into the car (it was my son's car as mine is still in the garage) the lorries charging past were seeking to blow my car door away. I thought I had held on when another huge lorry came past and with a gust of wind I could not resist, it blew the door out of my hand and bent it backwards. An hour later after holding on to it to prevent a repeat performance, the AA arrived to declare the door and wing at least would need replacing and though he got me back on the road there may be no way back for the car. I can't believe the damage such a simple gust of wind could cause.

So got to my mum's somewhat late, cold and agitated. Chatted for an hour then started the journey home to break the news to my son. So never got another blip, the rainbow had long gone as had my ambition for the day.

Still my son has taken the news well and accepts it is just one of those things. Phew, tough day!

Got back late so will catch up tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.