Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Sunshine!

A change in the weather today, and the mood! Lovely sunshine, and no wind. We resolved to take the wee fella to the park for a run around he’s been stuck inside all week. I don’t think he counts round the block as proper walkies...

Mind you, up the hill, there WAS a wind. Straight from the Arctic, it was. I could hardly use my fingers. 

As we came back down the hill, we could see something happening on the hill above Dunsapie Loch - I have blipped it many times - we could see four people in long white flowing robes on the path. At the top we could hear (and see) two more people in flowing white robes, intoning some sort of mantra/song calling them nearer … The people on the path walked slowly up to the top to meet them. There was a child with them. We did SO wonder what was going on. Funeral? Wedding? Home movie? Sacrifice? I DO wish I had a huge long lens. The sun is always sort of in the wrong position when we’re in Holyrood Park, but I like the long shadows here...

We then went out for lunch to a local eatery we’ve been meaning to visit for ages. A terrific lunch, too. I had venison with chocolate and chilli sauce. Now, I spent 5 weeks in Mexico several years ago pointedly refusing to even try their famous chocolate mole sauces (JR was much more adventurous) so I don’t know what took me today - perhaps I drank that first glass of wine too fast it affected my thought processes… Whatever, it was delicious. JR’s beef cheeks were divine too. We’ll be back, it’s a great wee place and a wee feedback card - I like when they do that.

We’re meeting our new dog buddy person tomorrow. I hope Archie is on his best behaviour… We need to have a back up, as our main one can’t do the luxury week away…

We congratulated ourselves on yet another car journey with no sickness - that's been the last THREE! Could he be growing out of it??

And then, as we arrived home WHOOPS! Two BIG vomits - and I had put the doggie bag away. He missed my foot, both times, thank goodness.

So he's not over it...   :-((

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.