Colour blast

Numbed by the heat today, even had to sit down in the middle of our gym class. Still, we dropped by the market on the way home, to buy just one or two items, and wound up as usual buying a fair bit more. The fruit seller told us that the fruit above comes from China and is chock full of vitamins. He also told us its name, but I only remember that it started with a ‘p’ (at least, it does in Portuguese). He cut one open for us to try and I’ve never seen such a rich, glowing crimson. However, it had very little flavor, so we didn’t buy. By this time, a few more curious shoppers had gathered round, so hopefully he made a sale there.


Not much to report about the rest of the day, except that our new neighbours have at last finished remodelling their house and moved in. I took a bottle of Prosecco across to welcome them, but as it was an extra dry Brut, I’m not sure how much they’ll enjoy it – I got the impression that they’ve never tried it before, and quite a few people here prefer things not so dry. Oh well…. On the plus side, it was fun to meet their younger daughter, a mischievous-looking little imp of four or five, who followed me back to our house. The father and the older daughter seem rather reserved, but I think the little girl takes after her mother, who looked young, cheerful and friendly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.