Changes

Changes to how I had planned my day due to what appeared to be a snowfall which threatened to settle, resulting in me cancelling a meeting I had scheduled.  Shortly afterwards, the snowfall stopped and the snow cleared just leaving us with a bitterly cold day.

I had to nip into the city to do a couple of errands so I strode forth and to cheer myself up I thought I'd nip into Evolution.  Not to buy, just to browse.  I was shocked to see massive posters in the window saying that they are closing down due to 'difficult times for trading'.  Not just the Norwich store, but all of them.  This is my favourite place to buy gifts from - inexpensive, good quality, cheery and ethical.  They have 50% off everything, and there was a statement posted in the window saying that they wished to close 'as ethically as possible'.  I don't really understand what that means but it was interesting to note that instead of the usual scramble you see when somewhere is closing and offering 50% off everything the atmosphere was calm, almost reverent and many customers were telling the staff how sorry they were not just for the loss of the store but for the staff who would be losing their jobs.

Even though I wasn't planning on buying anything this heart made of rainbow coloured bells caught my eye and seemed quite appropriate to buy, as something to remember Evolution by and also as a reminder of the pleasure and support I've had from the Sing with Pride choir over the last four and a half years.  After going with some members of the choir to a community choir festival in Swaffham on the 25th I am taking a year off.  I may rejoin in a year, but at the moment I'm not sure. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.