Simply Me

By Suze981

Dysorienta

I have directional dyslexia. Its sometimes called spatial or geographic dyslexia - a condition distinguished by left-right confusion and a tendency to become disoriented easily. Apparently Dys means difficulty and Lexia means words - so it's not quite right - a better name for this problem would be something like dysorienta.

While it's not a medically recognised condition, it is a very real and very frustrating phenomena. It basically means I have extreme difficulty distinguishing my left from my right. I'm not an idiot, I know which is my right and which is my left, and when I am specifically asked - I can give the right answer. But my subconscious cannot work it out without specifically thinking about it.

It basically means that you don't want me to give you directions unless I have time to think about my answer. I also cannot function in any sort of aerobics class - I can't process when someone calls out a direction. I certainly can't do different things with, say, my right arm and my left leg. My brain simply can't do it. I always end up looking like an idiot.

I've been advised that if I want to continue running, I must do it in conjunction with Pilates. I've been trying different classes at Edinburgh Leisure (the only ones I can afford) but tonight I've been humiliated for the last time. Each class has had a high element of directional instruction. I can't do it anymore - it's funny for everyone else - but it really upsets me. So from now on I'm going to just do exercises at home instead. At least there's only Wes to be amused - and I have time to think about the directions.

Anyway, here's a lovely shot of Wes to cheer us all up!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.