bucks life

By bucksmiss

Good friends

A different day. Some processing in my sleep made me think that there may have been a misunderstanding some time ago which may have led to the unexpected and unwelcome conversation at work yesterday. I'm not sure how to take it forward but will probably still let things lie and wait and see as the ball is not in my court.

I could have slept til midday and snoozed my alarm at least five times...but was finally up by 10. My new sleep monitor showed nearly four hours of restful sleep. The most it's shown since I got it 10 days ago. Interesting. I was quite relieved to see that C was only just up before me too. We obviously both needed some sleep after an enjoyable but lateish evening yesterday.

After a relaxed breakfast with the back door wide open to let the sun stream in, we headed out about midday to the Brackley Antiques Cellar (a most marvellous alladin's cave) for a good mooch for a couple of hours and a nice sandwich lunch in their underground cafe. I managed to come away with a few 'present draw' items and a nice birthday card for A in Canada. I saw some decent pieces of furniture for my new look study but resisted the urge to buy right now. I also saw a beautiful and well priced oak dresser which would be gorgeous in C's new home and Whatsapp'd them a photo.

Then it was straight over to MK to meet up with S for a nice coffee (see blip) and a good chat. I was delighted to hear that E had passed the exam to get into the excellent secondary school she wants to go to in Bedford. Brilliant news.

Then C and I had an early meal as we couldn't get into the 'The Theory of Everything' at the cinema in the Xscape as it was sold out at 5pm. We enjoyed a tasty and leisurely pizza and then went to see the surreal, twisted fairy tale called 'In the Woods' instead. It's an utterly fantastical, musical film taken from a successful broadway musical featuring Cinderella, Jack & The Beanstalk, Rapunzel and other fairy tales. I'm reserving judgement but it really isn't my usual thing. I'd have preferred the other one by quite a long way I think...

We got home about 10.30pm after a most enjoyable day. I realised that I haven't spent a Saturday like that with good friends as opposed to family for a long time. I really enjoyed it. I must make sure to do it more often.

C has invited me to join her on an expenses paid trip to The Somme to do a recce for a diocesan trip in 2016 for some commemorations. I was delighted to accept. It is an old and familiar stomping ground for me and one of my favourite places to visit. It's been a while since I was last there too. There's a chance we might also go to La Rochelle with my godparents later in the year too if the dates work out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.