bucks life

By bucksmiss

Pity the bank balance

I've had another lovely Sunday with C. We went to church and I delivered the prayers. C went incognito. She is a female canon and my local church is one of the anti women ones. She had no wish to get into a debate, though I'm sure the vicar would have been polite!

We had a tasty bacon sandwich breakfast. As it was another gorgeous day (5C), we toddled off for a lovely bit of fresh air with a walk round Willen Lake. We tried and failed to spot the goats on the island but saw some water birds and the reeds swaying in the wind and sun were mesmerising.

After that, we had a good mooch round John Lewis and had a spot of lunch (blipped). This was where my entirely unplanned mini shopping spree started... new ironing board cover, baskets for the bathroom and a pretty box for napkins. I then dropped C off at the station in good time for her train, though she subsequently texted to say that someone had thrown something at the train from a bridge so they had to stop at Bletchley. Nightmare.

Instead of going straight home after buying the ingredients for the prawn curry for tomorrow, I foolishly went into Laura Ashley... Unbeknownst to me (honestly), I found it was the last day of their sale. Oh dear. I came out with four new seat pads for the dining room chairs, a table runner, some perfume, some place mats and a 'snuggler chair' on order for delivery in April and a partridge in a pear tree... Hmmm. In my defence, I need a new chair as the seat has collapsed on the current one in the sitting room AND it was 60% reduced AND all the other bits were too. I guess if you dare to pop into Laura Ashley the last hour of their Christmas sale is the time to go!

I'm home, have set the table for tomorrow night and am about to make the curry. I really need to start that ironing pile which is truly enormous now....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.