Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

View from the bridge

I had a busy morning at home doing chores and getting groceries for the weekend - the builders were not there today so I had a chance to get rid of some of the dust.

I then caught the midday train to London as I wanted to see some exhibitions. Firstly, I saw the Landscape Photographer of the Year Exhibition that is currently on display on the upper concourse at Waterloo Station. The boys had bought me the book for Christmas so I already had seen all the images (I really do not like the winning entry!) and I also know one of the exhibitors who was lucky enough to have three entries in this exhibition. There were some really wonderful images there, and the book gives the photograph exif details which is useful to know - the exhibition does not.

Then I went to the National Portrait Gallery to see the Taylor Wessing Portrait Prize 2014 exhibition. It is well worth seeing, so many images were simply amazing while others seemed to break every rule of composition yet are considered good enough to be there. I also loved the new portrait of Olivia Coleman that the gallery has recently bought, it is absolutely striking and she looks beautiful.

I wandered around Trafalgar Square taking photos of the funny mime artists, but it was so freezing cold that after some coffee I went back to the NPG and saw the Grayson Perry exhibition called Who Are You which is from the Channel 4 TV series. There is a map which you follow through the halls to find his works, there are 14 in total and they are scattered all over the 3rd floor. It was amazing - his ceramics and tapestries are beautiful but it was his view of British life, his philosophy and humour that come through his work that had me entranced. The 'Comfort Blanket' has been much talked about already. I had planned to meet Gavin to get a lift home but this exhibition was so good I phoned him and told him to meet me at the gallery earlier than arranged and I went through it all again with Gavin, who also enjoyed it very much.

We then drove home together and this was the stunning view from the Albert Bridge, overlooking Chelsea Harbour. A great day out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.