Gloomy solitude

Overcast all day.  Quiet at the gym.  Even quiet in the supermarket.

I fancied a breath of fresh air before the full afternoon of sport on tv, so I headed out - in the car so I could venture a little further.

I haven't been up to Castle Ring for a while.  It appears that this 2000 year old iron age Hilltop fort has been taken over by English Heritage.  There are more signs up - and some green protective covering on some of the banks.

Long shots over Cannock Chase weren't possible.  It was dull and the mist didn't make it particularly interesting.

There was hardly anyone around. A couple staggered up the steps with their toddler in a pushchair. An elderly gentleman with a mucky looking Saluki commented that I wouldn't have much luck with photos as even the birds were taking the day off.

Even though it wasn't pretty and it was rather muddy, I enjoyed the sense of freedom, and being at the highest point of the Chase.

Suddenly I came across a young man.  He greeted me with the "Aw'right" in the local South Staffs vernacular and carried on plodding down the path.  I noticed that he had a shovel hanging from the backpack and I wondered if he was travelling and sleeping out in the open. (Radio 5 did a piece when a guest suggested an overnight adventure, camping under the open skies - that had set my imagination running.)

Back to reality, in the car park, where the stranger was getting into his car and knocking the mud off his boots....

Best of luck to Forest this afternoon. Sad that we will be without Britt Assombalonga for over a year !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.