mef13

By mef13

SPRING AHOY

Steady rain during this morning gave way to a pleasant, if chilly afternoon on the south coast, and by the time I reached the shops there was a definite sign of spring in the air.
It came with the promise of having to spend time in the garden, but there we go. At our local DIY superstore the racks of  spring flowers, already in bloom, were sufficient to put me in a good frame of mind for the rest of the day.
Mind you, gardening is not necessarily my favourite pastime, but each spring I am enthusiastic enough to collect young plants ready to go out when the warmer weather comes.
I like to think I cannot go wrong with a choice like this, but my green fingers are seldom as green as I like to think they are.  I have grown potatoes in patio planters with avid success, then the following year suffered complete disaster. The same with tomatoes.
That’s why I think flowers are a safe bet. Last year we ordered geraniums online and they arrived as numerous small plugs, carefully packed and surviving the delivery, ready for planting.  They flourished and great joy, we had a magnificent display. Yet fully grown geraniums we bought at a local garden centre struggled to flower and did not last the season.
We have suffered disappointment with bizzy lizzies although we subsequently learned that was down to a widespread fungal disease which hit impatiens in many parts of the country.

So, the sight of crocus and daffodils in flower today was an uplift to the heart.  If only I can sustain the enthusiasm when it comes to planting out.   By then the grass will need mowing as well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.