A glimpse into my week

Glad to get an early blip from the hide as I was not going to go out today. A combination of a cold and miserable day and a recurrence of my UT infection, the first since beginning of September, was a disappointment and kept me up in the night. But anti biotics in place and already 12 hours on beating it back. Have my check up in 8 days time so will need to discuss this recurrence, given I take a prophylactic dose of anti biotics daily.

So I have a plan for the coming week. You will recall my prison visits of a few weeks ago which me and my research team did - ten prisons in under three weeks. Well the time has come to turn the data into a report and guidance document. My project manager has gone off to the Caribbean for a much deserved holiday but this leaves me the lonely job of writing the draft. So I have kept the bulk of the week free.

My plan is to work solidly every day and do something different in the evenings to keep fresh. If I can complete by end of Friday I can relax next weekend and can focus on my visit to the hospital to get my results following the starting of a new drug two months ago. Although I have until end of play on 9th to get the report in I will struggle to concentrate on consultant day so the target is Friday.

So for those interested in how I might do this:

Monday: complete all the analysis of the data and place into themes
Tuesday: do any extra reading identified to back up developing ideas. Chase up references, loose ends.
Wednesday: Design and format meeting with two members of the team to spark ideas to come up with a format for the guidance. Needs to be easy to use. So lots of ideas, challenges and fun in this day.
Thursday: write up guidance draft
Friday: continue and hopefully complete the task.

To keep me fresh I have Monday evening off, Tuesday at a revived Barnsley, Wednesday rest, Thursday dinner at my good friend's house and Friday night, hopefully finished just unwind. Football Saturday again and then off to see my Mum in Suffolk, this way I should be so busy I shall not think about my appointment until Monday and will be free to enjoy or worry about the result afterwards!

Have a good week everyone, I will document here how this perfect plan works out in practice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.