Because this is who I am

By Brighde

I'm more of an artist than you.

I'm more of an artist that you.

Because I'm just at learning standard this phrase is sometimes not only said but suggested by other 'acclaimed' artist or people who talk to you. Now, this can be through misinterpretation with saying that you're more dedicated by how you get up at half 6 and I'm doing my art degree yet how yours is more of a hobby may be a bit less commitment but in no way does that mean I'm  'more of an artist' than anyone else.

There's been a few times recently when this has occurred, with visiting artist saying that they were able to define what is meant to be an artist. And saying that there were parts of said lecture when the artist sounded like he was trying to define himself instead of talking about is work. Which in fact, was rubbish.

Not only this but someone mentioned something by saying 'just because you paint a water colour it doesn't make you an artist'. Well, yes it does. Surely if you create art, by any standard or quantity you're an artist- in your own right. People seem to justify there amount of artist by how long have been doing it or by the popularity of their work. When this simply isn't true. Anyone and everyone is an artist and just as much as anyone else.

Happy Blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.