boathouse at Grasmere

......... the side entrance.

It was a very cloudy start to the morning so we watched the solar eclipse on television whilst experiencing the darkening sky. At the same time two Goldfinches appeared on the seed feeders, the first we've seen in the garden for a long time.

 It brightened later and I got another hour's gardening done. I keep hoping that I'll dig some juicy worms up that will tempt the birds so I can get some photos, but no luck yet. 

In the afternoon I walked through White Moss Woods then along the shore of Grasmere towards the old boathouse, passing the point where we saw dozens of Goldfinches feeding on the Knapweed seeds last year. Horror! Most of the Knapweed has gone.  Dug up in the name of progress to widen and improve the footpath. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.