Appreciation

By Appreciation

Tate Modern

Off out to walk over the Millenium Bridge - without a wobble. We visited the Tate Modern, and the Oxo Towers. It was my first sense of just how Jubilee Crazy London is at the moment. Flags, bunting, corgis everywhere. But I loved the enormous picture of a Royal balcony scene - I think from perhaps her 25th Anniversary - which is covering the building works at the OXO.

From there we moved on to Borough Market and the bussling streets. Such life and vibrancy. Food to die for and shade provided by the church. We was knackered and headed home to cool off and rest.

Five o'clock we headed out again off to Baker Street, singing as we went, round Marleybone High Street and into Oxford Street. It was refreshing to see shops open past 5.30pm. I felt quite guilty that my babies were not with me to sample the delights of Topshop's 5 whole floors. So much style and beauty around, I was mesmerised by the youth. Libertys was sublime - such beauty preserved. So quirky and interesting.

The central line home was everthing I imagined the tube to be - and so much more. No air at all, a throng of pushing people and a sense of panic from a mother trying to contain her children. Yet every other line we used was easy and relaxed!

I am falling in love and wondering why it has taken me so long to visit this city again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.