bucks life

By bucksmiss

R III P

What a day!

I had a decent lie in, again, then got ready for my trip to Leicester.

J had cooked a smashing roast for lunch and we then walked the two to three miles along the canal into the city centre in readiness for King Richard III's coffin cortège.

There were thousands there and we had a great spot on the route up against the barrier. The atmosphere was great, the sun shone, it was nice and warm and we had a marvellous afternoon.

These two hugely unexpected and impressive armoured knights and horses rode as a guard of honour behind two police horses and in front of the pall being pulled by four black horses. The plain coffin lay on the back and some had thrown white Yorkist roses onto it. I had thought the crowds would clap or cheer but it was far more respectful than that. Quite a spectacle and for me (a confirmed Ricardian for many years now) it was a really special treat to have been able to witness that. I think I may even go to the cathedral this week to pay my respects.

We had a welcome coffee and then took a taxi back to theirs. After watching some of the Cathedral ceremony on TV, I made my way back down the M1 and am pretty exhausted so am having an early night.

It really has been a once in a lifetime day today. I was a part of a piece of history that has always been close to my heart...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.