LASIK Surgery

Today I finally plucked up the courage to have corrective surgery on my eyes. I was terrified and was visibly shaking as you are awake and aware throughout the procedure.

Hubby had to take the day off work too to accompany me as I wouldn't have been able to get home. I was given some medication as part of the procedure to calm my nerves, re-tested and then taken into the operating room. I lay down on the bed under the laser machine and was given strict instructions not to move. They taped my head to the bed , put some anisetic drops in my eyes and then left me. I was nervous anyway but the language barriers probably made it worse as it was difficult to communicate exactly what was happening. I was told that the doctor would explain to me exactly what he was doing throughout the procedure. He didn't. 'Be brave Gillian' is what I kept saying to myself over and over.
I'd done a lot of online research so I tried to think about what I'd read so I knew what to expect. It actually really helped me so when he cut into my eye to make a flap and peeled it back I was ready for the loss of any sight. I was ready for the sound of the laser and when I could smell the burning it didn't alarm me. The first eye took about five minutes and then they moved onto my left eye which didn't seem to take as long. The procedure wasn't painful but it wasn't very comfortable especially when they put the clamp in place to keep my eye open.
Not long after, Neil was driving me home where all I could do was lie with my eyes closed listening to podcasts. My eyes are very blood shot, particularly my right eye and I have to put eye drops in 16 times today. It feels as if I've been swimming under water with my eyes open in a very chlorinated pool. I have to be careful when I blink and I am not allowed to rub my eyes for a month!

Dex was very wary of me when he got home from school but Olivia wanted to know all about it and just wanted to cuddle me. The next few days are going to be interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.