Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Thursday, April 9, 2015 -- Road Trip

At 6:20ish this evening, we were north of Santa Barbara nearing Buellton. We got a LATE start -- 2:35 -- Ugh! Mr. Fun had a terrible week -- had a wisdom tooth pulled yesterday and this morning managed to get a root canal on another molar that is cracked in 2 places.

So I headed for work this morning thinking we were not going north. It was well after 1:00 when I got home and he was waiting to leave. Next week is spring break--no classes to teach.

Mr. Fun hadn't sent me a text or an email to let me know (I could have been home at 12:30). So after I arrived home, I packed my school stuff (papers to grade), a few clothes, and Max (our male dog) showed us where the leashes were. He wanted to make sure no pups were going to be left behind.

We loaded the car, put the pups in their "backseat-driver" positions, and then readied the house, and pulled away at 2:35. It was a looooong trip.

I drove the first 3 1/2 hours (heavy traffic in many places). Stopped in north Santa Barbara to potty and let Mr. Fun drive the rest of the way to Cayucos. We arrived at 7:40, and we watched the sun drop into the ocean as we drove from Morro Bay to Cayucos on California's Hwy #1.

We are now home in Cayucos at Hank's House (our nickname for this shack--long story--someday I should explain it). We're tired and I can hear my pillow calling my name.

Good night from California's Central Coast,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.