bucks life

By bucksmiss

Nests and more nests...

After a lovely sleep, I pottered awhile and sat outside in the warm sun for an hour or so taking photos of all the nesting birds. I think there are two blackbirds nests, one far too close to the back door, and I know there's a robin's nest in the shed as I've seen them going under the door far too often for there not be. The blackbirds were bouncing around the lawn like mad things and enjoyed taking a bath in the trug. I felt ever so slightly like Snow White.

I skyped with C in Perth and then headed out to Stony for some artisan bread and a relaxing sarnie in the cafe. The weather has been glorious, a little chillier than of late at 15C, but with no cold wind and much, much warmer in the sun. We are lucky this Spring.

At 2.30pm I picked A up from the village and we headed over to the Brackley Antiques Cellar for a mooch and to hunt for a chest of drawers. Here's A trying out a fabulous old bedstead, a snip at £100! And I found a nice old chest of drawers, a perfect size with just a little characterful damage. I'm just waiting for the owner to come back to see if she'll accept my offer. Hopefully, I'll hear tomorrow and P has said he'll help me get it back to mine.

Then we stopped in at P's for a coffee and A remarked as to how much like 'The Good Life' they live ... And she's right. She persuaded P to open a bottle of his home brew which she complimented and I think P was rather proud to show her the hens, his homemade greenhouse, veggie seedlings, fruit trees etc.. They have a robin nesting in amongst the stuff on one of the shelves in their lean to and you can see them popping in and out with food for the babies.

After I dropped A back home, I popped into MK to treat myself to an Italian meal. It wasn't great, I forget how these chains are often disappointing and I wish there was a good independent Italian restaurant round here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.