Simply Me

By Suze981

Liberton Brae

I learned today that it is exactly 5.23 miles from the Marie Curie Hospice in Edinburgh to my house - by the shortest route.

I hadn't planned on finding this out today. I was working from the hospice but my first meeting wasn't until 11am. I figured I'd go for a short 3 mile loop in the morning and then get a bus across (it takes an hour).

So I got dressed at 7.20 and was waiting in the park for my garmin satellites to sync when I checked my phone. My boss had text to say he'd pick me up at 8.35 so I didn't have to get the bus and we'd work from the hospice all day. He'd actually text last night, but as I have very limited signal in the flat I hadn't got it until going out for my run. No time to run I headed home.

I decided instead to run home from the Hospice. 5.23 miles makes it my longest run this year (by .23 miles). It certainly was undulating but it was actually really nice to run point-to-point on roads I've never run before. And it meant that I pushed myself that little bit further - there's life in these old legs yet!

All in all, a very pleasant end to the working day. I don't know whether to thank my boss or curse him - but I think it might be the former!

Running mileage (15 March - 15 March)
Today's run: 5 miles
Total mileage: 32 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.