The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Grooming and guarding

I took myself off to the park at lunchtime today, to see if there were any developments at tne nest on Swan island. I found the female (I think) asleep on the nest, and the male standing close by, grooming himself. He has a feather in his beak. It can't be long now. i must look over my blips of the past few years, and Steve's, to get an ETA for the cygnets.

Looking back, I can see that this swan had started nest building but not laid any eggs (i think) on 20th March, so she may have a while of sitting to go. In 2013, I blipped cygnets in the same spot on 14th May.

Climbing was good this evening: my arm still aches after a stupid bit of home I did at home a week or so ago, but it did not stop me, and I found a route I hadn't done before, that was steep, with overhangs, that was also fun! I like the hanging-out bits. but got a bit scared off after tearing a muscle last July. Time to move on....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.