June 2nd - A toy

June 2nd A toy

This home is pretty much a toy free zone, but this nest of Babushka dolls has been party to my personal journey since my Grandmother gave them to me when I was 7. They were my father's when he was a child, so must date from the 1920's

The one top half was missing when I inherited them.

Apparently they are more correctly called Matryoshka dolls and date from about 1890, the first set being carved by Vasily Zvyozdochkin. It is thought that they had been inspired by an earlier Japanese carved doll.
Traditionally, nesting dolls consist of eight, graduating in size, as with this set.

Babooshka Kate Bush

1. Inspired by...
2. A toy
3. Green and yellow
4. Drink
5. Sky
6. Descend
7. Passages, Real & In Time
8. Dusk
9. 4 of a kind
10. A snack
11. A friend
12.Take 12
13. On a bench
14. A flag
15.Shadows

16. A phobia
17. A love for...
18. Flame
19. Colorful
20. Fast
21.Welcome summer
22.With wings
23. Pink
24.Make believe
25.Through a window
26. A passion
27. A tomato
28. Music. How you listen
29.Through a lens
30. Playful

I thought I'd give it a go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.