Safely returned!

My two purses were accidentally left in the safe at the Mercure Airport Hotel in Sydney, Australia last month. We were accommodated there when our flight was delayed overnight. The very early morning departure resulted in only some of the safe contents being removed, but not all.

My heart sank when I realised my mistake at Heathrow Airport the following morning when I went to buy coffee. Home to cancel the cards and think of the “lessons learned” about the purses. No massive monetary value, but great sentimental value for me.

I emailed the hotel to ask if they had been found. Yes and arrangements were made for then to be posted on to me. I asked that they take the Australia money from the green purse to cover the cost and put any change into a charity box. (The change was left in the purse)

I have had such kind and friendly communication with the hotel staff. They could not have done more, an excellent service.

You may ask why the bother to claim/return the purses? The black purse contained one of my favourite snaps of R. Don’t know when it was taken but it has travelled everywhere with me for a number of years. The green purse was a present from R which she bought in Kathmandu on her last trip to Everest base camp with P, a couple of years ago. We visited P when he was teaching  there a few years ago, so have seen parts of Nepal, a beautiful country, amazing people, but such poverty.

The recent earthquake in Nepal with the dreadful destruction to such a large area and devastation for so many people is heart breaking. Hopefully nations and people within the world, who are able to help, do so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.