at home with an Ivysaurus

By MoGrant

Local youth lobs stones at ferry

Today was my last day alone with just me and ivy, tomorrow granny grant arrives and her sisters should be here next week. We had a good last day- lounged about in the morning and managed to catch Nigel farage losing his seat. John popped round for a bit before lunch, and ivy showed him her dancing.

We had a brilliantly ivy friendly lunch - baked cambert. She was everybit as pleased as I thought she'd be.

Ivys afternoon napping routine has totally give to pot this week- finally managed to get her down for a nap by singing to her, but she didn't stay asleep for very long. I had long enough to do some boring tax credit and council tax admin - but not long enough to have a shower before she woke up. I thought she'd want to come in the shower with me, but she explained she needed her 'bath jumper' which is her new dressing gown that arrived this morning and was downstairs. I hadn't realised she understood so well what it was for. Decided she needed one since she insists on getting in the shower with Euan and I and it's cold having to dry and dress her before yourself.

Did some gardening after that, I was trying to grow squash from seed- which was going well till all my seedlings unexpectedly drooped and died, so yesterday I bought a single pumpkin seedling in dobbies, which ivy accidentally snapped the stem of this morning - so refusing to take a hint from the universe, ivy and I planted some more seeds. The health visitor came over unexpectedly to discuss me being given extra hep with ivy when twins are here- I felt pretty pro being discovered in the garden, actually showered and out my pjamas and doing something vaguely educational with ivy. Ivy showed off all her words, including please and thankyou. If we were being inspected - which we weren't- Wed have passed with flying colors! I even felt confident enough to admit I'd lost ivys red book, but it turned out I hadn't - the health visitor had it!

To mark the end of an era we met Euan for coffee and cake- ivy had a cup of hot milk and had a great time chasing Euan round the pool table. Finished our outing with a trip to the beach to throw stones in the water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.