1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Aced it!

Quite pleased with my achievements today, if I do say so myself!

Moved the guinea pigs and cleaned them out before breakfast so that they were done.

The main project was to get the acer that has been standing in a plastic bag for over a week planted.

We want to erect a small fence running down the garden near the shed, and then take it across, almost to the border on the opposite side, but stopping with enough of a gap for a path. Sav's mum knows a chap who may make it for us, once he's got over a small op, so we're just waiting on that project for now.

However, the acer is to be planted in the corner of the fence, so I had to get on and do that today as the tree was looking a bit sad, sitting there in a bin bag!

I was expecting Sav home, as he planned to come back after sleeping off his night shift, but he phoned to say he'd changed his mind as he would only have to go back down tomorrow, so it wasn't worth it.

I was on a mission, so decided to have a crack at it on my own. First of all I had to mow the lawn ( the bottom two left hand side photos are befores ). Never used the new mower before so had to phone Sav to find out how to switch it on! Having pressed and clicked the only two moving parts, nothing happened. Sav told me to press and click them at the same time, and hey presto, we were off!

I then dug a trench behind the shed with a view to planting some beans in there later. Covered the trench ( to warm up the earth ) and the area around the little greenhouse ( a grand name for a set of shelves! ) with black plastic to kill off the grass there ( we have far too much of the stuff! ).

Finally, I set to, digging the hole to plant the tree. Took a bit of getting through the grass, but once I'd got the hole started, it wasn't too bad a job.

Dropped compost around the roots, so had some soil left over which I used to plant up 3 fuchsias, also gifts from Sav's mum.

Sav's got some digging to do when he's next home, I m not doing the whole of the border along the ( currently invisible ) fence on my own!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.