A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Bath-time

Surprisingly not for this one. Though I think she could do with it after a day mainly spent in the rain. Makes me wish we had some sort of outhouse or utility room the smelly mutt could sleep in.

I also spent a lot of the day in the rain so perhaps it is less surprising that I was the one in the bath this evening. Though really I just wanted to warm up and hide away reading my book.

In the first couple of weeks after Jackson's injury I spent a lot of time reading in the bath. I found that I wasn't interested in watching films or TV, that I couldn't really engage or focus on anything and that getting lost in a book really helped. Funnily enough this last week or so I have been the same. Today was the last day of SATs, and possibly the hardest, with 2 hours of maths tests. As with the other days J came home and pretty much collapsed but there was also a palpable sense of relief. We're so proud of his resilience and determination to get through this week and do his best in all his tests. He was given every chance to take an out and not do them, or do them at home and he was adamant that he was going to do them all and do them in school with everyone else. It has been a huge achievement that seemed unimaginable a couple of weeks ago. And he has driven it all. Very proud of our boy.

And we're hoping this might mark an end of the affair and we can all move on with moving back to normal. He wants to go back to piano lessons next week which is another good sign. So I'm going to stop my daily Jackson updates so assume he is well and all is back to normal unless I write otherwise. There have been many times when I haven't wanted to blip but I am glad that I have and I really have appreciated all the support.

Lesley x

EDIT: and slightly bath-time related - soap update...turned out the soap was "a little too manly" so he chose to go with the Pears gentle bar instead. Well, until I opened the bathroom cabinet (not very big in a not very big bathroom) and found 6 bars of his Man Soap of Choice: Imperial Leather. Which is good because this morning both the kids complained about the smell in the bathroom and I was weirdly transported back to my Grandma's house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.