From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

My woody friend....

Nothing much to tell you! I know that's good news.

It was a steady day workwise with no wild excitement. I barely got up from my screen until midday when I was surprised and delighted to see my woodpecker visitor who had also appeared last Thursday. He looked straight at me before he continued drilling into the peanut and cherry suet cake in a new holder I'd only bought yesterday.

The old holder had been broken by 4 starlings swinging on it at once over the weekend.

This woodpecker was fascinating to watch as he pulled his head back and tapped away rapidly before pulling back with a beak full of suet cake. He repeated the whole thing several times and this was one of the tidier pictures I took. Even the starlings got bored watching in the end and flew off. 

I had all the usual birds come to visit too. Not many squirrels have called over the last couple of days. They find the new nut feeder hard work and the one fellow is probably keeping a low profile after revealing his charms to the world on Monday!

That's it for today.

Track? Some classic Deep Purple from 1970 - Child In Time

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.