The Pearce Clock

This clock was a wedding gift to my Paternal Grandparents. When I was little it mostly lived in a cupboard at home. Occasionally I was allowed to have it in my room for a while.

The alarm is something you have to watch. If you wind it up, once the designated time is reached, it plays repeatedly until the wound up spring has fully released. I think that's why it wasn't out on show often. Young children have a fascination for winding such things but the repeated melodic tune at 3am wasn't welcome ;-)

Mum and Dad had it overhauled and gave it to me for my 50th. You need to wind it daily, as it lasts 24 ours. Once that would have been normal and part of the routine of life. I our digital world and watches with batteries that last, I never quite adjust to the daily wind.

It's a beauty and a joy to have. It sits on a book case with a piece of non-slip mat beneath it. Hopefully it's enough to survive a decent earthquake.

The poppy is one of the Australian ones the RSA had to arrange to because there weren't enough NZ made ones for ANZAC day.

It reminds me of my Granddad and his service in WW1 and goes well with the clock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.