feet well travelled

By feettravelled

So the second day at Isubilo, and I took the bus there. It's about 10km drive. But in true African style, it took me 1 hour to get there on the bus, with all the waiting for the bus to fill up and stuff!

Having been to Zambia twice before, I get annoyed when the Zambian make such a fuss about white people, especially the men. They are just obsessed with women, anything that walks in front of them. The women get treated like a bit of meat and it is awful. They think we as white people are stupid and rich. It's tough trying to work with people who think that about you before they even know you.

Once I got there tho I was cracking on with my dissertation research. I was collating all the kids data, their records, and grades over the past few years. There are 144 kids on the programme and today I got thru 60 records. I worked straight and it was a long day staring at my screen just typing away but felt I made a good inroad into my work. (The uni hasn't cleared my ethics yet so I can't start interviewing the kids yet so im doing what I can before they clear my research).

It took another hour to get home but my bike and Banana were there waiting for me ready to bike into the bush. We didn't go far today, because it was quite late and getting dark and also we hit a dead end.

Also, happy birthday to my beautiful little sister on her 12th birthdayyy!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.