am bioran

By AmBioran

Kinlochbervie

Bank holiday Monday. Pissing rain. Wind whipping through the creaking pines above the tent. A decaying sheep carcass near the stream.

What a jolly start to the day! Gaiters on and hood up, I continued on the quest and up to Bealach Horn east of Foinaven. The cloud base was at 450m, the saddle at 535m. It was 9am. I didn't see anything again in the clag until I descended off the final top at 1pm. I managed to battle over the ridge of Foinaven in the storm, having to take bearings off every summit (and there were many). I was grateful to finally descend out of the cloud and then squelch across the BOG to the road a couple of miles distant.

Then tabbed along the tarmac through the beautiful Kinlochbervie where Mr Mackay sold me some treats from his emporium.

The excellent Durness Bike Bus took me back to the car at Inchnadamph. I'll be back next year to walk to the Cape and celebrity stardom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.