at home with an Ivysaurus

By MoGrant

Euan's first twin cuddle

Willow is doing well enough that she got to have her first ever breastfeed today. Euan and I waited till Ivy left for playgroup with Granny Grant and then drove in to see her. I thought it would be an occasion accompanied by more ceremony and general prodding and poking, but the nurse in the room just said to us 'okay, pick her up when your ready and off you go' and didn't even come over to check. Willow did very well, she had a good few methodical sucks and only needed half of her feed of expressed breastmilk down her tube.

Euan left me and Briar behind, with a whole lot of alarms set on my phone. Willow had to feed ever 4 hours including overnight and then I had to express afterwards to have milk for her top ups. 

In the evening, the girls and I got filmed for a documentary on midwives for BBC Alba. I'll try and remember to blip about it when it gets shown, but I don't think it's for a long time yet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.