Falling Apart

What a wind there was this morning when I was out walking PD.
As I came up the path in my extra shot I could hear a tree creaking and groaning.
When I stopped before crossing the road I realised it was the tree right beside the path at the pavement .......... and it was moving and creaking at ground level.
There is obviously a lot of internal rot right at the bottom of the trunk and it isn't going to last long with these winds.
If it is left to fall it will come down along the road and pavement ...... not a good idea with it being the only car route to the primary and nursery schools.
When I got back to the house I phoned the council and it took 4 minutes of recorded messages and selecting numbers before I was able to leave a message - there is no way to speak to the emergency staff on duty!!!! and after 11 hours I am still waiting on the return call I am to get "as soon as possible"

I hope I don't get the opportunity to say "I told you so".

Other than that walk I have done nothing. The cold and damp has really taken its toll on me over the lest few days - the back is not happy, the kidneys are putting out more liquid that I can put in, the throat feels like sandpaper, the ear feels like there is a red hot wire in there and I have a thumping headache.

So much for the summer we have been told was coming our way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.