Marten...s!

Another peaceful morning on the veranda. Until...zap! A brown furry creature emerged from behind the outhouse and ran on the grass to the right of yesterday's picture, all the way up to the house! It stopped dead on my spot on the lawn, and stood there for a couple of seconds, watching us. It was the marten from yesterday!

Mum had grabbed my collar and we had the compost net up anyway, so we were cool about it. It soon went on its way, and had not quite disappeared when a second creature repeated the same procedure. It was an amazing experience, but mum is not entirely happy about how unconcerned they were about our presence.

Today is Sweden's national holiday. The flag should have been up, but we weren't staying, so... We went upstream for a short walkie before we headed back to the city. I splashed about in the shallow water and enjoyed it a lot. If mum had just let me, I might have gone for a swim!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.