momcat1

By momcat1

Want to see a neat moth?

This little guy was found in the corner of the deck doors by my daughter (hey ,want to see a cool moth?).Size is about an inch and a half. Goole is really an amazing thing because I was able to find it on a Moth Photo site run by Mississippi State U . It is a Grammia Virgo or Virgin tiger Moth (sorry I can't tell if it is male or female). Apparently found on the east coast. Family Erebidae, subfamily Arctiinae. Being used to the little tan moths one finds everywhere it always amazes me how pretty some of these are. I have always wanted to see a live luna moth . Unfortunately I have only seen bits of wings left under the light at my Aunt's farm by hungry bats. I have seen several Atlas Moths since we moved here. Those are quite large. Actually most of those had a few bites taken out of there wings too , come to think of it. Apparently the night is a dangerous place for the poor moth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.