Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Surrey House, Norwich: Marble 'Fountain'

Here's a bigger view.

This lunchtime I needed to catch the bus into the city centre. I was just a brief time doing what I needed to and had a while to spare before my return bus. So I called into Surrey House (the HQ of Aviva - formerly Norwich Union) to take the second in the series of blips I plan to do of this extraordinary building (the first was on May 9th).

This is the 'fountain', situated in the area just behind the reception desk. As well as being beautiful to behold, it really is quite an amazing structure - the 7 columns supporting the roof are of a rare Sienna marble, the only ones of their kind in the world apparently - in winter the 'fountain' distributes warm air into the building and in summer cool air (an early form of central heating/air-con, innovative in its time).

My Surrey House series (currently just 2 plus a link, but there'll be more to come) are blipped with the tag JJRWsSurreyHouse, and can be seen by searching for this tag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.